Monday, September 22, 2008

Who is interfering with Facebook?

Guest post by Deb Prothero

Although I am trying to get some work done today, I was curious about the Liberal Campaign Launch, so I went online.

Facebook is one of the places I check out for recent activity that might be interesting. Under updates, I was online as this one came in:

Anyonebutharper.ca
From Mean People Suck
Hey folks,

I’m part of a non-partisan movement Voting to Win against Stephen Harper. You can check out our website at www.http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http://anyonebutharper.ca. The movement is comprised of hundreds of Canadians — Liberals, NDP, Green, Bloc -- from across Canada all working collaboratively to promote strategic voting. We’re not the only group doing this, by the way. Vote for Environment http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http://(http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http://voteforenvironment.ca), Department of Culture http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http://(http://www.departmentofculture.ca) and even the CAW are all urging Canadians to vote strategically. If we work together, we may prevent a Harper majority government from becoming a fait accompli.

I’m writing this message because I need YOU to help spread the word.

Please visit http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http://anyonebutharper.ca and choose ONE of the Anyonebutharper videos and share it with your network. The “SHARE” plug-in with the green icon allows you to easily share this video on Facebook, Myspace, Digg, and so on. It even lets you post it on your blogs and send it to friends via email. If you are so inclined you may even share One Video a Day for the next FOUR days.

And lastly, if you could please copy/paste this message and send it to FIVE of your friends, that would be great!

I know that if we all work collectively and harness the power of our networks, we can stop what seems inevitable from happening!

Vive la revolution!
(read less)
Today at 10:13am | Opt Out | Report Spam


I chose to click on the link and lookie here:

The following website has been identified as malicious:
http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http://anyonebutharper.ca
The link you have clicked has been identified by Facebook as a malicious web site. For the safety and privacy of your Facebook account, we strongly suggest you avoid visiting this address.

Has someone been tinkering with Facebook or are the Conservatives really scared now after Nik Nanos' numbers yesterday showed that Dion has the momentum now and Harper is yesterday's news. Just because a majority of Canadians do not want Harper and are trying to organize a strategic response, does this mean the Conservatives or individuals supporting the Conservatives should interfere with that online effort? What about free speech or is that only for Conservatives?

And if I were to label something malicious, it would most certainly be the last two years of activity directed against Stephane Dion by the Conservatives in parliament and the Conservative Party of Canada's attack advertising campaign.

Stephane Dion has been a superhero in handling the malicious attacks, in my opinion.

4 comments:

bigcitylib said...

I don't really know about facebook but my first thought would be that someone has lodged a complaint with facebook about the site. Probably someone unsympathetic.

bigcitylib said...

Or its a recurranc of this bug

http://bugs.developers.facebook.com/show_bug.cgi?id=3316

which means someone will probably fix it soon.

DLF said...

I got this message:

You are about to leave Facebook to visit this address:

http://anyonebutharper.ca

For the safety and privacy of your Facebook account, remember to never enter your password unless you're on the real Facebook web site.

Deb Prothero said...

bigcitylib;

Maybe my experience is a regular occurence but it was the first time I had experienced it. Nothing on the website could be considered malicious, in my opinion as it is a strategic voting idea rather than a beat up on whatshisname.

I suppose I shouldn't post so rapidly after experiencing Facebook warning me about malicious activity. Heck, it seems that Dion is the only one that can handle malicious activity with grace. :-)